The Govenors

Great Rollright Primary School is a Church of England Voluntary Aided School, which means that it was founded by, and is still owned by, the Church of England.

The School was actually founded in 1852 and the Diocese of Oxford has ultimate responsibility for its running. This responsibility is discharged through a Board of Governors (the “Governing Body”) which also employs the staff, including the Head. The Governing Body delegates the day-to-day running of the school to the Head. There is also a large input from the Local Authority, which provides the funding for the School and also monitors the standards of achievement of the School’s pupils.

The Governors’ role is to formulate the strategic plans for the school, and to support our Head in running the School. Each Governor is a well-informed “critical friend” who offers support to the School and to the Head, but who is not afraid to ask awkward questions or to offer constructive criticism where necessary. In such a small school, Governors also have a further role to play in carrying out many of the practical tasks which might be done by staff in larger schools.

Governors come from all walks of life and the make-up of the Governing Body reflects the aims and aspirations of the local community; it also “preserves and develops the school’s religious character in accordance with the principles of the Church of England.” By its nature, the Governing Body contains expertise in various disciplines and has contacts in the local area who can offer the school practical help when needed.


Mrs Anne Hewett


Mr Gavin Southwell

Foundation Governor Gavin was last appointed in July 2014 and is the Chair of the Staffing and Finance Committee. He has no pecuniary interests to declare.

Reverend John Acreman

Foundation Governor John is Ex Officio and is also a Governor at Hook Norton C.E. Primary School.

Mr Adam Buxton

Local Authority Governor, appointed from 1st September 2016. Adam has no pecuniary interests to declare. He is a member of the Finance and Staffing Committee.

Miss Michelle Hastings

Co Headteacher, Deputy Headteacher, Class teacher in The Woodland Thursday and Friday, and PSHCE Subject leader.

Mrs Rebecca Buckland

Staff Governor, Class teacher in The Mountains Classroom and Subject Leader for Mathematics, ICT, MFL and P.E. Rebecca was appointed as staff governor in November 2014.

Mrs Helen Gormley

Foundation Governor and Chairperson since September 2016. She was appointed as a Foundation governor in September 2015. Helen is on The Monitoring Committee and has no pecuniary interests to declare.

Mr John Lougher

John is a Foundation Governor appointed in September 2015. He is on the Staffing and Finance Committee and is one of our Health and Safety Governors. He has no pecuniary interests to declare.

Mr Paul Bowman

Foundation Governor and a member of the Monitoring Committee, Paul was appointed in May 2014. He is one of our Health and Safety Governors. He has no                                              pecuniary interests to declare.

Mrs Anna Hubbard

Foundation Governor appointed in October 2013, Anna is a member of the Staffing and Finance Committee and also responsible for Safeguarding. She has no pecuniary interests to declare.

Helen Hare.JPG

Mrs Helen Hare

Parent Governor, appointed in September 2015 and Vice Chairperson from September 2015, Helen is on the Monitoring Committee and she has no pecuniary interests to declare.